Moody Blues’s Graeme Edge: A Responsibility to Play the Hits

Playing the hits: Moody Blues drummer knows what band’s fans want to hear
Alan Sculley For the La Crosse Tribune

Moody Blues drummer Graeme Edge says he’s perfectly happy to play the classic songs by his band — even if it’s the 2,000th time he has played a song like “Nights in White Satin.”

In a recent phone interview, he said he learned long ago that what the musicians on stage want to play isn’t what matters.

“You’ve got to do the hits, and I don’t disagree with it,” Edge said, citing a time some three decades ago when he learned that lesson. “I went to see a favorite artist, and he’d just gotten a new album out and he just did the new album. And I was so disappointed because I wanted to hear the songs that I knew. That’s when I realized you have the responsibility to play those songs because that’s what people come for.”

Full story:

About Scott K Fish

http://wp.me/P4vfuP-1
This entry was posted in Drum/Music News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Drop Me a Line

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.