Joe Wong: How Do Drummers Navigate Through Life?

SKF NOTE: I tip my hat to Joe Wong for his podcast series, “The Trap Set.” I’ve listened only to Mr. Wong’s Sheila E interview and some of his John “Drumbo” French interview. The production is first-class and what I’ve heard so far are interesting, knowledgeable exchanges between Wong and the drummers.

Plus, I think his goal with these drummer podcasts is right on: “[T]he craft of drumming is irrelevant to the show. I wanted to know answers to how people navigate through life.”

Reporter Piet Levy’s “No one interviews the drummers” statement is completely wrong, but we should not hold that against Joe Wong. I look forward to listening to more of “The Trap Set.”

Local Beat
Musician Joe Wong’s podcast gets drummers talking
By Piet Levy

Joe Wong

Joe Wong

No one interviews the drummers. Practically the only time they’re prominently featured in an article is when the drummer is the frontman, like Ringo Starr or Don Henley.

…”The Trap Set” isn’t shoptalk.

“Drummers have an interesting temperament I can relate to, but the craft of drumming is irrelevant to the show,” Wong said. “We address issues I tend to think about, like how to raise a family when touring all the time. I didn’t want to believe that being great in the arts has to come with the exclusion of anything else that makes you a person. I wanted to know answers to how people navigate through life.”

Full Story

About Scott K Fish

http://wp.me/P4vfuP-1
This entry was posted in Drum/Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Drop Me a Line

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.